HiPC 2015 Student Research Symposium

Message from the co-chairs

Welcome to the proceedings of the eighth Student Research Symposium at the International Conference on High Performance Computing (HiPC), 2015. This symposium continues the first seven symposia held at HiPC from 2008 onwards, aimed at providing a premier forum in India for stimulating and fostering student research and offering an international forum to highlight student research accomplishments. The symposium exposes students to the best practices in high performance computing (HPC) in academia and industry and allows them to network with their peer group in India.

This year, we received 24 submissions. Of these, we were able to accept 7 high quality papers that will be presented orally and another 5 as posters. Each manuscript was reviewed by two or more members of our international Technical Program Committee. A separate awards committee is tasked with selecting authors for the Best Paper and Best Poster awards sponsored by the IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Parallel Processing.

In addition to research papers and their presentation, poster exhibits constitute an important component of the symposium. This year, we have organized additional activities in the symposium to enhance its value to students attending the symposium. In particular, it features invited talks by two distinguished experts in the field. In future years, we expect to include activities that will further promote interactions and cross-pollination among students and the broader research community research, and continue to offer an international venue to showcase student research in HPC.

We wish to thank a number of people for their help in organizing this workshop. The Technical Program Committee, listed on the next page, performed a thorough review of the manuscripts within a brief time to allow us to complete our selection on schedule. Chung Ming Cheung and Sally Jelinek Westrom were always prompt in maintaining our web pages up to date, despite the numerous requests that we made. We acknowledge Yinglong Xia for help with publicity. We thank the HiPC Steering Committee chair, Viktor K. Prasanna, the HiPC co-chairs Ramamurthy Badrinath and Rama Govindaraju, and the HiPC vice general co-chairs Rajeev Muralidhar and Kalyana Chadalavada, for their numerous contributions. Finally, we thank IEEE-CS TCPP for sponsoring the symposium awards.

December 2015

Kishore Kothapalli General Co-Chair IIIT - Hyderabad, India Ashok Srinivasan General Co-Chair Florida State University, USA

HiPC 2015 Student Research Symposium

Technical Program Committee

 Surendra Byna Lawrence Berkeley National Lab, US Kishore Kothapalli IIIT Hyderabad, India (co- Amitava Majumdar San Diego Supercomputer Center, US 	chair)
	/
4 Amitava Maiumdar San Diego Supercomputer Center U	CI A
Immura majamaa ban biego bapercompater center, o	SA
5. Sparsh Mittal Oak Ridge National Lab, USA	
6. Madhu Mutyam IIT Madras, India	
7. V. Krishna Nandivada IIT Madras, India	
8. Rupesh Nasre IIT Madras, India	
9. Ranjani Parthasarathy Anna University, India	
10. Kalyan Perumalla Oak Ridge National Lab, USA	
11. Xinyu Que IBM Research, USA	
12. Upadrasta Ramakrishna INRIA Saclay, France	
13. Santonu Sarkar BITS Pilani Goa Campus, India	
14. Ashok Srinivasan Florida State University, USA (co-	chair)
15. Parimala Thulasiraman University of Manitoba, Canada	
16. C.D. Sudheer IBM Research, India	
17. Abhinav Vishnu Pacific Northwest National Lab, USA	4