HiPC 2015 Awards Announcements

TCPP Best Paper & Poster Awards

HiPC is co-sponsored by the IEEE Computer Society’s Technical Committee on Parallel Processing (TCPP) and the HiPC Education Trust, India with support from Industry Partners. Papers in the Main Conference and papers and posters in the Student Research Symposium selected for recognition of their technical contribution at HiPC 2015 in Bengaluru were:

  • Main Conference

    Task-based multi frontal QR solver for GPU-accelerated multicore architectures
    Emmanuel Agullo (INRIA / LaBRI, France); Alfredo Buttari (CNRS - IRIT Toulouse, France); Abdou Guermouche (Université de Bordeaux, France); Florent Lopez (Université Paul Sabatier, France)

  • Student Research Symposium

    Best Papers:

    Multiscale multiphysics process on a HPC infrastructure: Application to coral growth process

    Karthik Senthil (National Institute of Technology Karnataka, India), Paul Albuquerque (University of Applied Sciences of Western Switzerland, Switzerland); Jonas Latt (University of Geneva,Switzerland)

    Dynamic Shortest Paths using JavaScript on GPUs
    Anurag Ingole and Rupesh Nasre (IIT Madras, India)

    Best Poster:

    SWIFT: A Fast Enhanced String Matching Algorithm for Heterogeneous Architectures

    Sourabh S Shenoy (Vishveshwaraiya Technological University, India), Supriya Nayak Udma (Visvesvaraya Technological University, India), Bayyapu Neelima (National Institute of Technology-Karnataka Surathkal,India)

Student Parallel Programming Challenge

In 2015, HiPC hosted the Student Parallel Programming Challenge Supported by Intel and NVIDIA. For more information see this page. Prizes were awarded at HiPC 2015 as follows:


  • Subhajit Sanfui, Utpal Kiran
  • 1st Place: Akshay Kamath, Gururaj K, Ajay Kumar M,
  • 2nd Place: Alexandros-Leonidas Kouris, Alexandros Nakos, Nikolaos Nikoloutsakos
  • 3rd Place: Shaleen Kumar Gupta, Sishtla Chaitanya Prasad, Visharad Bansal
  • 4th Place: Prathamesh Deshpande, Saurabh Kalikar, Somesh Singh

Shell India Computational Talent Prize

The Shell India Computational Talent Prize (SICTP) has been established to recognize outstanding computational research by students in Indian academia. The award is given to a recent paper published by the student, with impactful and innovative computational contribution. The award aims to encourage computational efforts in every field of science. Prizes presented at HiPC 2015 include:

  • SICTP Gold Prize:

    Sindhu Padakandla, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru, India
    Title: Energy Sharing for Multiple Sensor Nodes with Finite Buffers

  • SICTP Silver Prize:

    Manish Sinha, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru, India
    Title: HCN channels enhance spike phase coherence and regulate the phase of spikes and LFPs in the theta-frequency range

  • SICTP Bronze Prize:

    Ketan Sarode, National Chemical Laboratory, Pune, India
    Title: Embedded multiple shooting methodology in a genetic algorithm framework for parameter estimation and state identification of complex systems

    Atreyee Banerjee, National Chemical Laboratory, Pune, India
    Title: The role of structure and entropy in determining differences in dynamics for glass formers with different interaction potentials

India Top 500 Supercomputer Systems

On December 6, 2015, the fifteenth Top Supercomputers-India list was released. The combined supercomputing power of the nation is now 5.25 Peta Flops. For more details, see this site.